First Cricut project

I haven’t had a chance to do much playing with the Cricut and there is quite a learning curve. I just wanted to share this door sign I made for my son’s room. He is completely obsessed with school buses, so I thought he would like one for his room. It didn’t turn out too bad considering the fact that I had no idea what I was doing. I have some vinyl now, so my plan is to make some of those adorable wall decorations with it (a la Uppercase Living, etc.). I used the Locker Talk cartridge to make this little project. Now I just have to break in the other 16 cartridges I’ve already accumulated 🙂 I have seen so many incredible things done with this machine and I can’t wait to produce something a little more challenging than this. Like I said, it was my very first attempt to make something with my new toy.

I also have a card to share. Actually, I have lots of cards to share but I’m trying to spread them out. I have heard from many of you that you wish I would post more often. I am really going to give it a try by sitting down once/week and writing 3 or 4 posts. Then I’ll schedule them to post every few days. I thought things would slow down once my grad class was finished (got an A, btw), but it hasn’t. Now Justin has t-ball 2 nights a week, swimming 1 night a week, and Bart has his kettlebell class on Friday nights.

Here’s one of the cards we made during my techniques class last week. We used the chalkboard technique and it turned out really well! To do the chalkboard technique, we stamped on dark card stock (I used Chocolate Chip) with White Craft Ink. Then we went over the ink with chalk using a dauber. You need to tap more than rub. The craft ink doesn’t come off, either. I used really soft, muted colors for this card but plan to try it with the brighter colors next time. I bet it’s going to look great!

Stamps: Live Your Dream
Ink: White Craft, Chocolate Chip
Paper: Afternoon Tea DSP, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White, Soft Sky
Accessories: Mat pack and paper piercer, Scallop Punch, 1 3/8 Circle Punch, 5/8 inch Chocolate Chip grosgrain ribbon

5 Comments

Filed under Cardmaking, Cricut, Scrapbooking

5 responses to “First Cricut project

  1. That sign looks great to me, and the card is beautiful!

  2. Deena

    Hi! Cute sign and lovely card!

  3. popsicletoescardcreations

    Hi Dianne! Love the chalkboard card, it looks so soft and pretty! I’m sure Justin loved his school bus…so cute!

  4. Glad to see you’re breaking out your Cricut! I love the bus sign, very cute!

Leave a Reply

