Putting the “Scrappin” back in “Scrappin’ Librarian”

Wow! It has been a looooong time since I last posted! Things have been absolutely crazy around here. I am getting ready to send my baby boy off to kindergarten next week and it seems like there’s a million things to do before then. I spent the past weekend at a scrapbooking retreat and was pretty productive. I was able to get Justin’s Disney album completed, which was my goal. I was then free to work on some of Madelyn’s album. I’ve done exactly one two-page layout of Maddie. She is now seventeen months old. That’s nothing….. my son just turned five and I just started scrapping his second birthday on this retreat. I’ll admit that I really love the instant gratification of making a card. It often takes me so long to do a layout that making a card seems so much easier. But, I have to do it. I’ve tried this once before and was completely unsuccessful, but I am trying it again. I am committing myself to doing two 2 page layouts per week. If I get more done, great. But 2 is my goal. Feel free to pop in now and then and ask me how I’m doing with this goal. I honestly would appreciate the accountability.

I am posting the most recent pages for my calendar class. Details for my upcoming classes can be found on my Stampin’ Up website!

May page:

Calendar Class May

Stamps: Warm Words, Big Flowers, Little Flowers
Ink: Really Rust, River Rock, Soft Sky
Paper: Really Rust, Whisper White, Soft Sky
Accessories: Large and Small Oval Punch

November page:

Calendar Class November

Stamps: Dotted Autumn
Ink: Always Artichoke
Paper: Whisper White, Always Artichoke, Pumpkin Pie

I also played with the Special Delivery Simply Scrappin’ Kit on the retreat as well. I have to say that I LOVE these!!! I am so impressed with Stampin’ Up’s cardstock stickers and their new textured cardstock is so yummy. I realize I am a little biased because I am a demonstrator, but I really do think they’ve come up with a very nice product in the Simply Scrappin’ Kits. Here are the two layouts I created using it. The first one was cased from the Simply Scrappin’ Kit.

Maddie SS Kit

And the other one:

Maddie SS Kit 2

The last layout I have for tonight is very simple. I *love* these pictures of Maddie and I really wanted them to be the focus of the layout. The polka dot paper is from the Special Delivery Simply Scrappin’ Kit and the ribbon is the new Groovy Guava Stitched ribbon from Stampin’ Up. If you haven’t purchased any of the new ribbons, you must immediately contact your Stampin’ Up demonstrator and order some!!!

Maddie Black and White Polka Dot

I apologize for the pictures. I had a heck of a time trying to photograph the scrapbook pages. I’ll work on my technique.

I had a wonderful time on the retreat and got to spend some time with some old friends and made some new ones. I had my very first massage and it was heavenly. Mostly, though, I was able to relax and recharge my batteries. It was nice to not have to worry about taking care of anyone but myself. Of course, by the end of the weekend, I was ready to come home because I missed my family. When it comes down to it, I’m a mom. It’s often a thankless, tiring, frustrating job…. but I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

3 Comments

Filed under Scrapbooking

3 responses to “Putting the “Scrappin” back in “Scrappin’ Librarian”

  1. Looks like now you’ve got started you’re going great guns Dianne. And aren’t massages wonderful? You really feel like a new person after a good massage.

  2. Dianne I love your baby pages. I need more help with my scrapbooking. I bought this Simply Scrappin Kit but plan to make baby announcements out of it.

  3. All your pages are great! I especially love your may page…truely adorable!!!

Leave a Reply

