A tragic event

I am sure by now most of you have heard of the horrific bridge collapse in Minneapolis over the Mississippi River. It has been covered not only nationally, but internationally. I sat in my family room last night and watched the events unfold, absolutely horrified. When I saw the school bus full of children, I couldn’t help but think how lucky I was to have my two children playing on the floor safe and sound. My heart and my prayers go out to those friends and family who’ve lost a loved one or who are helplessly waiting to hear news of someone missing. I can’t imagine what that would feel like. My prayers are also with those who are participating in the search and recovery mission. It is a dangerous thing for them to undertake.

I am proud, however, of the incredible acts of selflessness and bravery immediately following the collapse. Bystanders were doing everything they could to help those stuck on the bridge get to safety. The way the different government agencies reacted so quickly and so efficiently is so reassuring. I know now that our city and state are prepared for emergencies such as this. We have all learned a great deal since September 11th.

Please, if you could take a moment out of your day today to say a prayer for those involved in this tragic accident, it would be greatly appreciated.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “A tragic event

  1. didem86

    I am very sad about it…My prayers are with them

  2. I wrote about this on my blog, too. Living here, how can we not be affected? Our hearts are breaking for those who have been personally affected.

Leave a comment