Altered Recipe Tin

My friend Kristine was kind enough to take pictures of the recipe tin I made her for Christmas. I made a few of these and they all turned out great, if I may say so myself. These are so fun to make and look great sitting out on the counter in your kitchen. I have yet to make one for myself, but that’s to be expected. I have a scrappin’/stampin’ project list a mile long. I have yet to really get started on my husband’s calendar that was supposed to be for Christmas and it’s almost the middle of January! I start my cataloging class this weekend, so I know play time will be limited for me for a while. I think this class has the potential to kick my a$$ and I’m a little anxious about it. I’m maintaining a 4.0 right now and would really, really like to graduate with that. After the class this semester and the one I’ll take this summer, I will be half way through my Masters in Library and Information Science degree with a license to teach Media in K-12. I will try hard not to bore you with the details of cataloging. I’m sure it’s only fascinating to library geeks like myself.

I digress…. I’m posting the pictures of one of the tins I made and will post the rest when I get the pictures from the people I gave the tins to. I couldn’t have remember to take pics of the projects before I gave them away because that would have been the smart thing to do!

KM Recipe Tin #3 KM Recipe Tin #2 KM Recipe Tin

I will say that, for me, the easiest way to apply the paper was to put the Mod Podge directly on the tin and not the paper. I had far less bubbles that way. They have a ton of examples of these in the SCS gallery. Check them out!

4 Comments

Filed under Library Science, Scrapbooking

4 responses to “Altered Recipe Tin

  1. It looks great. I love the way you’ve scattered the flowers over it.

  2. Congratulations! This post was so terrific we included it in our latest Blog Carnival on Craft Critique!

    We would love it if you’d “share the link love” and let your readers know about the Altered Items Carnival on Craft Critique… but we don’t require it.

    Of course if you’d rather not have your link included in the carnival then just let us know and we will remove it.

    Thanks for creating something so wonderful and sharing it on your blog! 🙂

    -Sarah Moore
    http://www.craftcritique.com

  3. anne coulthard

    I am chair of 501c3 named Cancer Outreach Foundation. We are trying to find the undecorated recipe box at a reasonable price.
    Our plan is to have loical high school art students decorate them with our logo and then add recipe cards that we already have.

    Can you direct us to a supplier?

    Please do not publish.

  4. Aimee

    I am also curious where I may purchase undecorated tins? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

